100 Series: Introduction

ISO/CRS Specialists and FEMA CRS Contacts

ISO/CRS Specialists are responsi­ble for reviewing community requests for Community Rating System classification and verifying implementation of activities credited by the CRS. The name and telephone number of the ISO/CRS Specialist for a state are listed below. The ISO/CRS Specialist is an employee of Insurance Services Office, Inc. (ISO), FEMA’s CRS management contractor.

General questions may be directed to nfipcrs@iso.com.

ISO/CRS Specialists and FEMA CRS Contacts

ISO/CRS Specialists by State

ISO/CRS Specialists are responsi­ble for reviewing community requests for Community Rating System classification and verifying implementation of activities credited by the CRS. The name and telephone number of the ISO/CRS Specialist for a state are listed below. The ISO/CRS Specialist is an employee of Insurance Services Office, Inc. (ISO), FEMA’s CRS management contractor.

General questions may be directed to nfipcrs@iso.com.

ISO/CRS Specialists by State

Alabama – Jennifer Rachal
Alaska – Teresa Alvelo
Arizona – Kerry Redente
Arkansas – Jennifer Rachal
California – (S) Heidi Carlin & (N) Teresa Alvelo
Colorado – Kerry Redente
Connecticut – Eugene Kohls
Delaware – Danielle DeHart
Florida – Denise Boehning, Craig Carpenter & Keith Harper
Georgia – Emily Schmidt
Hawaii – Marlene Jacobs
Idaho – Teresa Alvelo
Illinois – Tracie Belongia & Lou Ann Patellaro
Indiana – Tracie Belongia
Iowa – Hailey Kirlin
Kansas – Garrett Byma (interim)
Kentucky – Amanda Gowans (interim)
Louisiana – Jennifer Rachal & Stephanie Weeks
Maine – Eugene Kohls
Maryland – Danielle DeHart
Massachusetts – Eugene Kohls
Michigan – Tracie Belongia
Minnesota – Hailey Kirlin
Mississippi – Jennifer Rachal
Missouri – Garrett Byma (interim)
Montana – Hailey Kirlin
Nebraska – Garrett Byma (interim)
Nevada – Teresa Alvelo & Dave Arkens
New Hampshire – Eugene Kohls
New Jersey – Danielle DeHart & Garrett Byma (interim)
New Mexico – Kerry Redente
New York – Garrett Byma
North Carolina – Mike Bratcher & David Holcomb
North Dakota – Heidi Carlin
Ohio – Tracie Belongia
Oklahoma – Stephanie Weeks
Oregon – Teresa Alvelo
Pennsylvania – Amanda Gowans (interim)
Puerto Rico – Eugene Kohls
Rhode Island – Eugene Kohls
South Carolina – Mike Bratcher & David Holcomb
South Dakota – Hailey Kirlin
Tennessee – Mike Bratcher
Texas – Dave Arkens & Stephanie Weeks
Utah – Dave Arkens & Hailey Kirlin
Vermont – Eugene Kohls
Virginia – Emily Schmidt
Washington – Marlene Jacobs
West Virginia – Amanda Gowans (interim)
Wisconsin – Lou Ann Patellaro
Wyoming – Hailey Kirlin


ISO/CRS Specialists Contact Information

Teresa Alvelo
Cell: 541-786-4724
teresa.alvelo@verisk.com

Dave Arkens
Phone: 702-485-3345
Cell: 702-354-4674
dmarkens@iso.com

Denise Boehning
Phone: 772-532-4536
denise.boehning@verisk.com

Mike Bratcher
Phone: 910-298-2303
Cell: 910-879-6064
jbratcher@iso.com

Tracie Belongia
Cell: 317-389-1480
tbelongia@verisk.com

Heidi Carlin
Cell: 512-468-0417
heidi.carlin@verisk.com

Craig Carpenter
Cell: 404-825-3003
ccarpenter@verisk.com

Danielle DeHart
Cell: 540-598-1646
danielle.dehart@verisk.com

Keith Harper
Cell: 850-889-3293
richard.harper@verisk.com

David Holcomb
Phone: 803-894-9836
jholcomb@iso.com

Marlene Jacobs
Cell: 541-704-5434
mjacobs@iso.com

Hailey Kirlin
Phone: 385-222-5458
hailey.kirlin@verisk.com

Eugene Kohls
Cell: 305-202-1780
ekohls@iso.com

Lou Ann Patellaro
Phone: 708-634-3040
Cell: 312-438-9113
lpatellaro@iso.com

Jennifer Rachal
Cell: 985-705-8897
jennifer.rachal@verisk.com

Kerry Redente
Cell: 719-207-0121
kredente@verisk.com

Emily Schmidt
Cell: 404-615-6762
emily.schmidt@verisk.com

Stephanie Weeks
Cell: 337-849-6619
stephanie.weeks@verisk.com




FEMA CRS Regional Coordinators

Coordinator Contact Information
Region I Katie Rand (617) 832-4716, Katie.Rand@fema.dhs.gov
Region II Marianne Luhrs (347) 515-4874, Marianne.Luhrs@fema.dhs.gov
Region III Richard Sobota (215) 931-5514, Richard.Sobota@fema.dhs.gov
Region IV Roy McClure (770) 220–8835, Roy.McClure@fema.dhs.gov
Region V Ashley Reimann (312) 408-5563, Ashley.Reimann@fema.dhs.gov
Region VI Gil Giron (940) 383-7253, Gilbert.Giron@fema.dhs.gov
Region VII Todd Tucker (816) 283-7515, Todd.Tucker@fema.dhs.gov
Region VIII Marijo Brady (303) 235–4835, Marijo.Brady@fema.dhs.gov
Region IX Antoinette Stein (202) 288-1697, Antoinette.Stein@fema.dhs.gov
Region X Mitch Paine (202) 717-5665, Mitch.Paine@fema.dhs.gov


CRS Resource Specialists

Bradley Arkens
Phone: 541-890-7418
bradley.arkens@verisk.com
Sofia Voulgarakis Hackett
Phone: 504-214-2382
sofia.hackett@verisk.com
Melissa James
Phone: 502-386-5258
melissa.james@verisk.com
Scott LaPorte
Phone: 985-272-8009
scott.laporte@verisk.com

ISO Program Coordination

Sherry Harper
Program Director
Phone: 850-682-1998
Cell: 850-902-5075
sharper@iso.com

Garrett Byma
Technical Coordinator
Cell: 917-224-4059
gbyma@verisk.com

Scott Cofoid
Technical Coordinator
Phone/Fax: 815-220-1002
Cell: 815-993-3579
scofoid@iso.com

Amanda Gowans
Technical Coordinator
Cell: 443-743-7993
agowans@iso.com

Cristina Martinez
Data Manager
Office: 303-443-1695
Cell: 720-288-4473
cristina.martinez@iso.com

Mechelle Olivier
Cell: 985-790-0802
molivier@iso.com

Jonathan Smith
Technical Coordinator
Cell: 228-235-6506
jlsmith@iso.com



CRS Communities

List of CRS communities as of April 1, 2022

CRS Participation Maps

Click Here for CRS Participation Maps

CRS Participation Maps


CRS Users Groups

CRS communities across the country have formed CRS Users Groups to share information about CRS activities and credits. The groups also offer training opportunities. Click below for contact information for each group.

List of All CRS Users Groups


NFIP/CRS Update Newsletter (all are .pdf files)

Sign up for the NFIP/CRS Update

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

CRS Strategic Plan

To help evaluate the effectiveness of its credit criteria and procedures and also to improve the program’s performance, during 2007 and 2008 the CRS developed a multi-year strategic plan. Implementation of the objectives and strategies set out in the plan stretched into 2014 and beyond, and the document still provides a long-term vision for the CRS.

  • A Strategic Plan for the Community Rating System (⬇ Download .pdf)